Which Drug Abuse Can Make you inadmissible to the United States?

The United States has some of the strictest drug laws in the world, and those laws extend to foreign nationals who wish to enter the country.

Under Section 202 of the Controlled Substance Act, individuals who have engaged in drug abuse or drug trafficking may be deemed inadmissible to the United States.

Specifically, Section 202 lists a number of controlled substances that are illegal under federal law. These substances include marijuana, cocaine, heroin, and methamphetamine, among others. If an individual has used or possessed any of these substances, they may be denied entry to the United States.

But it’s not just recreational drug use that can cause problems. Section 202 also covers prescription drug abuse. If an individual has abused prescription drugs or has a history of addiction, they may also be deemed inadmissible.

Section 202 of the Controlled Substance Act has broken  them down into (IV) schedules: Schedule I, Schedule II, Schedule III, Schedule IV. Here are some of the drugs listed under each schedule:

Schedule I:

  • Heroin
  • LSD (Lysergic acid diethylamide)
  • Marijuana (cannabis)
  • Ecstasy (3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine or MDMA)
  • Methaqualone
  • Peyote

Schedule II:

  • Cocaine
  • Opium
  • Codeine
  • Fentanyl
  • Adderall (amphetamine)
  • Ritalin (methylphenidate)
  • Vicodin (hydrocodone)
  • OxyContin (oxycodone)

Schedule III:

  • Ketamine
  • Anabolic steroids
  • Testosterone

Schedule IV:

  • Xanax (alprazolam)
  • Valium (diazepam)
  • Ativan (lorazepam)
  • Klonopin (clonazepam)
  • Tramadol
  • Ambien (zolpidem)

The above is not a comprehensive list. Please refer to Sec 202 of Controlled Substances Act